NHS specialised commissioning hubs and clinical senates mapped

Following the Health and Social Care Act 2012, April 2013 saw the management of the NHS in England being extensively reorganised, under a new central organisation named NHS England (originally the NHS Commissioning Board). NHS England set up 27 area teams to act as its local offices: these are mapped here, along with links to pages on each of the teams including their contact details.

NHS specialised commissioning hubs

As well as the area teams, NHS England set up 10 specialised commissioning hubs, mapped below, which are responsible for leading the commissioning of specialised services in the NHS in England, including the direct commissioning of military and prison health services. There is more information on NHS England’s work on direct commissioning of services here.

The 10 areas are quite similar to the 10 strategic health authority areas that were abolished at the end of March 2013, but with a few differences: for example, Dorset migrated from the south-west into the area previously known as South Central and now called Thames Valley and Wessex.

Map of NHS specialised commissioning hubs

Map removed as Google Fusion Tables no longer works.

NHS clinical senates

NHS England also set up clinical senates, with were set up to “help clinical commissioning groups (CCGs), [local authority] health and wellbeingbBoards (HWBs) and the NHS CB [now NHS England] to make the best decisions about healthcare for the populations they represent by providing advice and leadership at a strategic level”, according to NHS England’s explanatory document (PDF).

The map below shows that the areas for these are basically the same as the 10 hubs, but with two of them (Thames Valley & Wessex and the North West) divided in two.

As with local area teams, the north-south divide in NHS naming conventions is clear, with romantically named Wessex on the south coast and ‘North East, north Cumbria, and the Hambleton & Richmondshire districts of North Yorks’ used as the name for both the specialised commissioning hub and clinical senate along the northern border. The commissioning support unit covering a similar area has plumped for ‘NHS North CSU’, which is a tiny bit snappier.

Map of NHS clinical senates

Map removed as Google Fusion Tables no longer works.
Source for both maps: NHS England (PDF)

Other maps of the new NHS: clinical commissioning groups (CCGs); NHS England area teams; commissioning support units (CSUs).
Updated December 2013